Bejeweled Blitz Live

 

I have spent a lot of time the last couple of days playing the newest version of bejeweled blitz that was just released for the Xbox 360. I first discovered the fun of this game on facebook so when I read about the Xbox version I just HAD to have it.  I must say I haven’t been disappointed. I love the fact that I can challenge other players…both friends and strangers. There are also achievements and levels (ranks) that also help to hold my interest. Basically…video game therapy has been good!

There are two different game modes in Bejeweled Blitz Live, Classic and Twist. Classic mode allows players to move their curser over a single gem and swap it up, down, left, or right. To swap gems players use the controller’s face buttons; pressing X to swap left, and Y to swap up, etc. If Classic mode seems too slow for you the Twist mode might be more your style. In Twist mode players control a larger curser that covers four gems at once. Players can then spin the four gems selected by the curser clockwise or counter-clockwise. Manipulated gems will hold their positions once the player spins them, unlike Classic mode how gems would swap back if a connection was not made. Personally I prefer Classic mostly because Twist makes me want to toss the controller through the TV.

With both game modes there are four different ways to play; One Player, Battle Local, Battle LIVE, and Party LIVE. Battle Local and Battle LIVE are both split-screen 1-vs-1 matches. Scores are calculated based on points (overall score), amps (gems connected), and style (connections made with special gems). This is where I think the real fun is…I love the competition aspect of this game.

