Happy 92nd Birthday Grandma

Death ends a life, not a relationship.

Whoever said that our loved ones don’t stay with us once they have passed on is dead wrong. I received such a special gift from my grandma yesterday and it took a good friend to point that out to me. When I was a little girl my grandma had a small collapsible toy horse that I use to play with while she sewed. I hadn’t thought about this horse in years.

When Melissa and I were in Michael’s yesterday in search of crafts to keep me busy while I am stuck in bed healing from a terrible fall down the stairs she picked up this horse to show me how cute it was and I didn’t know if I should laugh or cry so I did both. I told Melissa the story of how I use to sit with grandma and the memories came flooding back. She was so moved that she bought it and offered to paint it for me in memory of grandma and her birthday. What is really amazing is on the way to Michael’s (a store grandma adored) I was telling Melissa how much I miss grandma and I just wanted to talk to her about everything going on in my life. It took Melissa pointing out the obvious for me to understand that grandma was telling me that she is still here watching over me. I cried it still brings tears to my eyes. I called mom the first chance I could to tell her about it and she said she hadn’t heard me sound so happy in a very long time. I was absolutely giddy.

Below is the finished product that Melissa painted for me today as a tribute to my amazing grandmother. Margaret Marie Conner Hollingsworth. I could never imagine a better grandmother and I am so thankful that she chose this way to speak to me when I needed her the most.

Thank you grandma and thank you Melissa for helping me to see this and doing such a great job painting this cute little horsey that I am calling “Grandma’s Horse, the Second Generation”. I will treasure this forever.

Have you ever lost someone you love and wanted one more conversation, one more chance to make up for the time when you thought they would be here forever? If so, then you know you can go your whole life collecting days, and none will outweigh the one you wish you had back.”— Mitch Albom (For One More Day)

 

