Night Terrors

There was a time in my life where I didn’t sleep very much. I would often go days with no sleep. I used to lie to myself and say it was just insomnia, but the real answer is I carry a lot of baggage with me and sometimes it bubbles up in the form of nightmares. I have a bad habit that I am working hard to break and that is burying things deep in my psyche instead of dealing with them. I’m not just talking about little nightmares here. What I am talking about are night terrors. I understand something now that I never did with all those years of avoiding sleep. These nightmares are my brains way of forcing me to deal with some tough issues that I chose to bury deep within myself. I’m still an “avoider”, but I think I am doing a better job of dealing with things instead of just ignoring them. This blog post is good evidence of that. I don’t let the dream world control me anymore but I am learning that I still have a long way to go. Denial, it’s not just a river in Egypt.

