Happy New Year

If you are expecting a blog full of resolution’s and new beginning’s you are reading the wrong blog. While I do look forward to positive life changes within the coming year I do not believe in making resolutions. I have never understood this particular tradition. We all know the most popular ones: lose weight, save money, blah, blah blah. Most of the time we are just setting ourselves up for failure. To those people who can make promises to yourself and actually fulfill them, you have my utmost respect because I learned many years ago that I am not one of those people.

What I will say is 2011 both broke my heart and taught me a lot about myself. February 17, 2011 was the worst day of my life but that day and the days following it have taught me that I am strong in ways I never imagined, that it is okay to cry, that I have the most loving friends and family and that giving up isn’t an option.

I rang in the New Year quietly at home with some yummy food, sparkling cider, Dick Clark’s Rocking New Year (4oth Anniversary) and 2 of my favorite people. I am not much of a party person and have always been a home body at heart so this is pretty typical. We could see the Baltimore City fireworks outside our window. All in all it is a great start for the New Year. I am choosing to be hopeful even though I am sad that Maggie isn’t in my arms to celebrate her first New Year, but I have to believe as my mom does that she is in heaven and if she can’t be in my arms then next to Jesus in the arms of my grandmother is where I must imagine her to be.

