A Wonderful Vacation Full of Love

Mom, me, and Stacey

Jason and I took a trip to Florida to surprise my mom as she was arriving home from her own week long vacation from The Florida Keys. We left Maryland and headed out on our first real vacation together which would also be my first visit back to FL since I moved to Maryland in 2008. We made a stop in my hometown Ocala and had an all too short visit with my wonderful friend Kelly. We didn’t get to stay as long as I intended but I enjoyed her and the kids so much. Don’t worry Kells, I will be back and I’m sorry we left sooner than planned. My plan had been to spend the night at Kelly’s and then continue on to mom’s in Panama City, but I learned that mom was heading home a day early and I just couldn’t wait. I did however have the opportunity to sit at grandma and grandpa’s grave site.

By the time we reached mom’s house we had been on the road for about 24 hours, but it was so worth it when I saw the look on my mom’s face. I walked into her den while her back was to the door and I said “you really should learn to answer your phone” and it took her a minute to realize where that smartass comment came from and another minute to realize I was really there. That moment alone made it worth the trip.

The two stooges after a little icing fight with my birthday cake

As it turns out we stayed 2 weeks instead of one and for the first time in many years I got to spend my birthday with my family. We had so much fun, many laughs and just an overall happy time.
There will be more blog posts and pictures to come about our trip when I have a chance.

Thank you my wonderful family for such a special birthday.

