Remembering to Breathe

This song speaks to me in so many ways. Please take a moment to actively listen.

“We walk through the doors, so accusing their eyes
like they have any right at all to criticize,
Hypocrites.”

There are so many private things that I could mention here, but I will just say don’t judge me because you have no idea what path I am on or what I have been through to get here.

“‘Because you can’t jump the track, we’re like cars on a cable
and life’s like an hourglass, glued to the table
No one can find the rewind button, girl.
So cradle your head in your hands
and breathe… just breathe,
Oh breathe, just breathe”

This reminds me of how I can’t give up. No matter how broken I feel or the days where it seems easier to quit. This reminds me to push on.

“2 AM and I’m still awake, writing a song
If I get it all down on paper, it’s no longer inside of me,
Threatening the life it belongs to”

This is why I write and this is also why Musings Illuminated was born.

“And I feel like I’m naked in front of the crowd
Cause these words are my diary, screaming out loud
And I know that you’ll use them, however you want to”

This is my acknowledgement that by opening up so much of myself for others to see I am also opening myself to criticize. That’s okay with me because I know there is someone going through the same things I am and if exposing myself helps them it is all worth it.


