I Miss You, Grandma

Grandma,

It seems almost impossible to me that you have only been gone for 5 years. It feels like you have been gone for so much longer. So much has happened since you have been gone and there are many days when all I want is to be able to ask you a question. You survived so many things in your life with so much grace and more days than not I find myself wishing I had known to ask you for that secret when you were alive. There is no one else like you grandma. No one.

I was thinking today about how much you loved Dwight Yoakam. I remember being 10 years old riding in your old toyota and laughing at you playing his cassette over and over. Oh how tired I got of that voice! I would give anything to go back to that time. The days of fresh okra, long walks and even longer talks. I know now how lucky I am to have so many memories like this. I love you grandma.

