Skipping June

June is a month I would just assume skip. Fathers Day June17th, grandma’s birthday June 18th and the anniversary of grandpa’s death June 25th. Boom, boom AND BOOM. Up until 2006 all of these days were happy ones. Until grandpas death June 25, 2006 I was blissfully unaware that two other family members died on this day. With grandpas death came a new sadness for me on this date as well as fathers day. The year grandpa died grandma’s birthday fell on fathers day and then exactly one week later grandpa passed away. In March 2007 my uncle died and then Grandma didn’t make it to see her next birthday. June used to be fun. Family BBQ’s, birthday cake, sitting in grandma’s back yard watching the squirrels and laughing. I don’t think my family has known true happiness since those days. I think of all the changes in my life, both good and bad, that I would have wanted to share with my grandparents. Although there is at least one experience I am glad to have spared my grandmother as I’m not sure her heart could have taken the lose of our precious Maggie.

On days like today while I sit here hating this month I try to imagine grandma teaching Maggie to sew a pillow and grandpa riding her around on the tractor. My heart aches so much for what might have been that I sometimes don’t want to see what today will bring. Today it hurts to breathe: physically, mentally and emotionally.

She grew up with
The children of the stars
In the Hollywood hills and the boulevard
Her parents threw big parties
Everyone was there
They hung out with folks like
Dennis hopper, Bob Seeger, sonny and Cher

Now, she feels safe
In this bar on Fairfax
And from the stage I can tell that
She can’t let go and she can’t relax
And just before
She hangs her head to cry
I sing to her a lullaby, I sing

Everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye
Everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye
Rockabye

She still lives with her mom
Outside the city
Down that street about a half a mile
And all her friends tell her
She’s so pretty
But she’d be a whole lot prettier
If she smiled once in a while
`cause even her smile
Looks like a frown
She’s seen her share of devils
In this angel town

But, everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye
Everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye
Rockabye

I told her I ain’t so sure
About this place
It’s hard to play a gig in this town
And keep a straight face
Seems like everyone here’s got a plan
It’s kind of like Nashville with a tan, but,

Everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye
Everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye

Everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye
Everything’s gonna be all right
Rockabye, rockabye,rockabye, bye, bye
Bye, bye

“Lullaby [Live]” as written by Robert James Smith, Simon Gallup, Roger O’donnell, Porl Thompson, Laurence Andrew Tolhurst, Boris Williams
Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group, EMI Music Publishing
Lyrics powerd by LyricFind
Read more at http://www.songmeanings.net/songs/view/3181/#tL8Sfw86qZVVLDvj.99

