Settling

Why do we as human beings so often accept less than what we are worth?

Find what it means to be the girl
Who changed her mind
And changed the world

I know I often wonder this about myself, but I find it easier to accept less myself than to see my friends hurt because they are undervalued. There is a fine line between settling and emotional abuse. I have a friend who I swear is a sister separated at birth even though we didn’t meet until well into our adult lives. We are so much alike that it is eerie. The men in our lives are also a lot alike but to different extremes. Sometimes it is all I can do not to go into rescue mode, but you my dear friend are not a victim. You don’t need to be rescued, you only need to realize your self-worth and you are amazing.

Like with everything this reminded me of a song…Settling by Sugarland. The chorus especially sticks out to me:

I ain’t settlin’
For just getting by
I’ve had enough so-so
For the rest of my life
Tired of shooting too low
So raise the bar high
“Just enough,” ain’t enough this time
I ain’t settlin’ for anything less than everything

