Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness

October is not only breast cancer awareness month, a very important issue indeed, but it is also Pregnancy, stillbirth and infant loss awareness month. Anyone following my blog for any length of time knows that I started this blog as my emotional outlet when my daughter Maggie was stillborn. I have met many other grieving parents on this terrible journey and I am so sorry for all their pain, but I am also so thankful for the stories they have shared with me. Much like the byline of this blog: sometimes all people want is for someone to listen. Someone else who understands because they are walking a similar path.

Our precious angel was stillborn, but born still at 27 weeks gestation. Stillborn due to me being a carrier of strep B without knowing. My Doctors were not going to do the Strep test for 3 more week. A test that would come much too late for our Maggie.

I will be posting a special blog as we get closer to Monday, October 15th and the wave of light, but I am posting this now in hopes that some of you who read this will pass along the awareness of this heartbreaking and far too often unspoken epidemic. One in four women are affected by some kind of pregnancy loss. No matter how long they carried their child rest assured they feel the full weight of that pain each and every day. They shouldn’t have to do so silently anymore. Bloggers, please feel free to write your own special post or to share this one. If you don’t blog, please just mention it on your social media. If you don’t want to post it online, then talk about it with a friend. If you know a family who has suffered this loss, reach out to them. It doesn’t matter how we spread the word as long as we make the effort to do so.

