Front Porch, Back Porch…Deck

I saw a picture that reminded me of “home” and then not an hour later I heard the song “Front Porch Thing” sung by Little Big Town. Talk about a one two punch! I grew up in the woods where the porch, both front and back, were where the action was. Hours I spent sitting on a porch with grandma, talking and laughing. When I was very young, the porch is where my family would gather both before and after a meal. The porch is where the waiting for most things happened.

When mom and I lived behind grandma and grandpa I can still picture my grandfather sitting on the porch waiting for me to come home from school. Even if I didn’t stop to talk, he was always there to make sure I got home safely. This is also where he would be waiting after grandma and I went on one of our now infamous walks. I am dating myself just a little, but I don’t think I knew what a cell phone was yet…and grandma was famous for wanting to explore new trails on our walks in the woods. Poor grandpa, I know a part of him had to groan inside when we headed out. Rocking chairs, swings and lounge chairs saw me on many afternoons curled up with a book until it was too dark to read outside.

Good Lord willing and the creek don’t rise
My baby’s got a song to sing
While the crickets and the train whistle harmonize
Doin’ that front porch thing
Clangin’ out a, bangin’ out a feel-good tune
Strumming on my old 6 string
Sure can kill these country blues
Doing that front porch thing

When I was 11 years old mom and I moved into a house that did not have a porch, but guess what? We had the closed in garage and that was our replacement…sort of.  When mom was pregnant with my baby sister (Who by the way turns 19 tomorrow) we got a pool and not long after that the back deck was built. Now THIS was a suitable replacement…that back deck was now our porch. Many hours spent out there talking, laughing, playing music. The porch was essentially our dinner table carried out into “life”.

I love living in the city, but I will always be a country girl at heart.

Work’s been slow, money’s been tight
But that’s alright, honey, that’s alright
Sometimes you won’t, but sometimes you will
And when she do what she do, it’s a doggone thrill
[ Lyrics from: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/l/little_big_town/front_porch_thing.html ]
Chorus:
Good Lord willin and the creek don’t rise
My baby’s got a song to sing
While the crickets and the train whistle harmonize
Doing that front porch thing
Clangin out a, bangin out a feel good tune
Strumming on my old 6 string
Sure can kill these country blues
Doing that front porch thing

Verse 2:
When the moon comes up, we sit down
And the chains start creekin
Makin swingin sounds
Fall in love, all over again
Having so much fun, it oughta be a sin

Chorus 2x
Chorus

When we’re doing that front porch thing.
When we’re doing that front porch thing.
Doing that front porch thing.

