40 Days of Thankfulness: Day 33: Believe

There is a mix of songs that I became very fond of around the time of my grandmothers death in May 2007.  Believe: Songs of  faith had various artists and I played that CD until it was so scratched I had to burn another one. One song in particular has stuck with me: Believe sung by Brooks & Dunn. Every time I hear it I can almost feel my grandmothers presence. “I have to believe there is more to life than what I can see”. Lord knows this is true, if I did not believe there was “more” I do not think I would have had the will to live after losing Maggie. This is a double-edged sword because I will never be able to understand her loss nor will I accept it and I do remain angry at God, but even with all of that anger, hurt and doubt…I believe.

I can’t quote the book
The chapter or the verse
You can’t tell me it all ends
In a slow ride in a hearse
You know I’m more and more convinced
The longer that i live
Yeah, this can’t be
No, this can’t be
No, this can’t be all there is

Other songs on the CD

Jesus take the Wheel–Carrie Underwood
Who you’d be Today–Kenny Chesney (to this day I cannot listen to this song)
God’s Will–Martina McBride
Go Tell it on the Mountain–Sara Evans
Stained Glass Masquerade–Casting Crowns (another favorite)
I’ve Always Loved You–Third Day
When I Get Where I’m Going–Braid Paisely
Postcards–Craig Morgan
This is God–Phil Vassar
Perfect Day–Josh Bates

