40 Days of Thankfulness: Day 39: Changes and Imperfections

Four years ago today I took the first step that led to many life changes. Those changes used to be a good thing, but lately the bad does not out-weigh the good but I am still thankful for the courage that brought me down this path and I am hoping I can find that courage to pull myself up again.

 

My hair’s a mess,
And my mascara runs.
My feet get dirty,
And my skin burns in the sun.
It takes me a minute,
To admit it when I’m wrong.

Pretty is as pretty does,
But pretty’s not my thing.
This is all you get.
This is who I am.
Take me now or leave me be.

And if you’re thinking about changing my direction,
Don’t mess with my imperfections.

My back is weak,
But my will is true.
I have good intentions
But I say too much,
And don’t always know when to leave.
In case you’re looking,
That’s my heart there on my sleeve.

Scratched and bruised,
A little used,
But I work fine.
You might call me damaged goods,
But I am one of a kind.

My hair’s a wreck,
No I’m not perfect
But that’s okay with me.

