The Road to Thanksgiving

Friday marked the last day of my 40 days of thanksgiving challenge, but that does not mean my thankfulness has come to an end. I am thankful for a great many things on any given day. This week I am trying to get myself into a holiday state of mind instead of the dread I am feeling about the inconvenience of Thanksgiving in the middle of my last week of finals for my programming class. I have found myself complaining about how i cannot afford to lose a full day and the terrible drive we will have to make to meet family for dinner this year.

Thanksgiving was once my favorite holiday and this year I would be fine with skipping it. That makes me sad and I am pretty sure if my grandma could she would come back and knock some sense into me. Thanksgiving used to be the holiday I loved most because it was all about family, good food and fellowship. It was not about what someone could give you. I miss sitting in the kitchen with grandma while she cooked and watching mom build her casseroles. I miss watching grandpa sneak a piece of turkey and mom’s most awesome stuffing. I miss the fun and the laughter and the tradition of going around the table and saying what we are thankful for.

Most of all, I miss the person I used to be before I hated the holidays.

