Today is a Better Day

603155_303356393100718_1087096382_n

Good days used to mean a much different thing to me. It used to mean nothing was wrong, I didn’t break down and everything was “happy”. These days it means that I broke down, but I handled it better than usual. Today it means I woke up with no serious pain for the first time in exactly 14 days and had enough energy to both take a shower AND vacuum my floors in the same day. Today a good day means being able to do more than sit here and look at the mess that surrounds me physically, mentally and spiritually. If I stop to think about this too long it will probably make me sad, but for right now I will be thankful for a day that resembled “something” like a normal life. I have been listening to music today to help me push on. Songs like: Every Storm Runs Out of Rain by Gary Allan and The Spirit of a Storm by Kenny Chesney have topped my playlist and somehow serve as a reminder that eventually things must get better.

 

 

There’s a spirit of a storm in my soul
A restlessness that I can’t seem to tame
Thunder and lightning follow everywhere I go
There’s a spirit of a storm in my soul

There’s a hurricane that’s raging through my blood
And I can’t find a way to calm the sea
Maybe I’ll find someday the waters aren’t so rough
But right now they’ve got the best of me
And oh, it’s been a long, long time
Since I’ve had real peace of mind
So I’m just gonna sit right hereIn this old chair, until this storm rolls by

