Long-Time, No Blog

My last blog posting was September 22nd, 2013 because the next day life as I knew it changed. It changed in such a way that it has changed who I am as a person. The event itself was awful, but the woman I am today is who I am meant to be. A lot has happened since that day. I started working for Home Instead Senior Care in early October and it has been a wonderful experience. Life changed for me again in December, what I had attempted to get past in October came crashing down on me. This time, I was properly ready deal with it instead of ignoring the situation. I have learned that I cannot get through anything until I DECIDE I AM READY. In January my divorce became final. This was a bittersweet ending and a long time coming. I am not the person I was when I got married in 2001 and neither is he. In January I also lost my health insurance and struggled with how to pay for medications until April when I was finally able to get my new insurance. In June, my first client at home instead passed away. It was very sad, but not totally unexpected. I am so grateful to the people who have helped me along the way. There are so many who love and support me. Without that support, I would not be standing here stronger than the woman I was last September. That woman is gone, and I have made my peace with that.

Moving forward, this October I will be graduating with my Human Services Management degree and I couldn’t be more excited. My resume is starting to look impressive. In January 2015 I will start the Gerontology and Elder Care program at the University of Maryland. Better things are coming for me, this I know to be true.

Oh yeah and on a side note….I have lost 65 pounds. 

Image

 

